In which I introduce myself and lament douchebags using YouTube to ruin films.

-by Kid Bucket-

Kid Bucket here, making my first post to this blog that has such an illustrious history I don’t know if I am up to the task. Let me begin the best way I know how…

I’m a geek. I’m also a Hipster. I tried to fight those labels for a long time to no avail and have accepted my conditions. Now I use them to my advantage in order to think that I can be better than other people because I liked Tegan and Sara before Sainthood came out. Same with Florence and The Machine, The Black Keys, Girls… the list goes on and on and if you liked any of those bands after me that makes ME better than YOU. There, now that we have that out of the way, I can get to my first topic of discussion.

STOP TAKING VIDEO OF THE FILMING OF THE AVENGERS!

I get it, you want to be cool. You want everyone to know that you were the first person to get shots of Captain America and Thor fighting a yet-to-be-revealed alien foe. When should people see Cap and Thor fighting Aliens? When you put your ass in a theater with your tub of popcorn and Diet Coke. The Avengers and The Dark Knight Rises are being ruined by extras who want to show off how god-awful the new Catwoman costume is and how hilarious a fight between the Caped Crusader and Bane can be before it is actually put through post production, by going on set and taking low quality videos you are making this look like this. If a production team wants to show off a bad costume and lighting conditions, they should be able to do so themselves without the help of YouTubers and the Twitterverse.

I would hate to see what would happen if someone tried to make The Sixth Sense in this day and age where the spoilers to movies are given months in advance because someone wants to whip out their iPhone (assuming you aren’t one of those people who holds it in their hand all day for some reason) and take a video of Bruce Willis finding out he has been Begin Spoiler dead End Spoiler the whole time. It would be impossible. So thank you, serial movie ruiners. Thank you for making The Avengers and The Dark Knight rises look like low budget fan flicks that sometimes even turn out better than the real thing.

One thought on “In which I introduce myself and lament douchebags using YouTube to ruin films.

  1. haitibabies says:

    Darling, are people forcing you to watch these videos? (Because if so, you need friends whose priorities better align with yours.)

Leave a Reply

