Hypocrighticals

-by Kid Bucket-

I wish I had a dollar for every time I found a glaring act of hypocrisy in politics, but if I did I would still be depressed over the amount of glaring acts of hypocrisy in todays political world. If you could boil down the two halves of the political spectrum, they would be GOP=Small Government/States Rights and Democrats=Big Government. In recent days though, this could not be further from the truth. The party of small government been displaying its dismay for their party’s own reason for being, making known that they believe in personal freedoms only as long as those freedoms are the ones they agree with as well.

Yesterday, the GOP-controlled House passed a bill that would effectively take away the a state’s right to make its own concealed carry laws. This is the exact opposite of what the GOP says they believe in, but it’s not like this is a new development. This type of legislation can go hand in hand with the Defense of Marriage Act, which is bad legislation and a quick reaction to a problem that didn’t exist outside the minds of the religious right. Not to mention the various “Small-Government” legislators who try to outlaw abortion as well as birth control.

Gun control laws are extremely intricate opinions formed by personal experience, so I can only speak for myself and my history with guns when I form my opinions. Anyone who has ever been drunk around me and mentioned guns knows that I was a 4 time expert marksman and a three time medalist in the Far-East Rifle Championship. I was also a marksmanship instructor for three years, so I witnessed the entire spectrum of shooting prowess. If anyone knows how dangerous someone is who thinks they are a good shooter but is actually terrible, it’s me. If someone carrying a gun is not an accurate shooter, they have the potential to make a dangerous situation exponentially worse.

But that is not the point of this: the point is that some states DON’T WANT GUNS TO BE CARRIED. They should be allowed to make that decision, and the GOP is playing the Big Government card by passing this poor legislation.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

