Nerdface’s Last Playlist

-by Nerdface-

Making my Last Playlist was as hard as I thought it would be, which was: very. It was also interesting how the format of 80 minutes limited me. Had it been limited by song number instead of overall length, this list would look different because I would have chosen several longer songs. For example, I really wanted “Echoes” or “Shine On You Crazy Diamond”, but both were so long that they got cut.

Notable omissions from this list, for me, are John Prine and Vangelis. I nearly put several different songs by each of them on the list at multiple times, but they ended up just barely not making it. If I redo this list in a year, it might be slightly different, but this is a pretty good start.

My Last Song (the last one I’d ever give up) is Hallelujah.

Last Playlist

1. Hallelujah – Rufus Wainwright
All I’ve ever learned from love was how to shoot at someone who outdrew you
2. Country Feedback – R.E.M.
Crazy, what you could have had; I need this, I need this
3. Hide & Seek 2 – Imogen Heap
what you say? that it’s all for the best? well of course it is
4. Anthem – Leonard Cohen
There is a crack in everything; that’s how the light gets in
5. Dogsong – The Be Good Tanyas
No regrets, they’re out the window, frozen on the silver pane
6. Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing – Sufjan Stevens
I’m not really sure why I love this song (this specific version) so much, but I do.
7. Mrs. Potter’s Lullaby – Counting Crows
Well I woke up in mid-afternoon cause that’s when it all hurts the most
8. Trophy Sixty-One – England in 1819
Is this your wasted encore, pictured for days in your mind?
9. Soave sia il vento – Kiri Te Kanawa
I think I first heard this in the movie Closer. For some reason it reminds me of Christmas.
10. Goodbye Lenin – Yann Tiersen
I love how it builds and builds. When listening to it in the right mood, I feel more and more tense, until the end, when it breaks.
11. 16, Maybe Less – Iron & Wine / Calexico
Call it predictable, yesterday my dream was of you
12. Lilac Wine – Jeff Buckley
Lilac wine, I feel unsteady; Lilac wine, I feel unready for my love
13. The Wanderer – Johnny Cash
I went out walking with a Bible and a gun; the word of God lay heavy on my heart, I was sure I was the one
14. Kyrie Eleison – The Oxford Choir
This version was used in the movie Ever After and it is absolutely beautiful.
15. Kid – Cry Cry Cry
Me in a song. I’m the kid who has this habit of dreaming: sometimes gets me in trouble too. But the truth is I could no more stop dreaming than I could make them all come true.
16. Swan Lake, Act IV, No. 29: Scene Finale Andante – Tchaikovsky performed by David Lloyd-Jones and The New London Orchestra
Perfection.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

